The American Trucking Associations today named 35 professional truck drivers as finalists in the selection process to become Captains on the 2007-2008 America's Road Team. Americas Road Team, the trucking industrys premier ambassador group, is sponsored by Volvo Trucks North America.


The 35 drivers now move on to the final selection round, which will be held January 15-19, 2007, at the ATA headquarters in Alexandria, Va. A panel of trucking industry officials and trucking news media will judge the contestants on their knowledge of the trucking industry and safety issues. A battery of interviews will test their media and communication skills.


Once selected for Americas Road Team, the driver group will spend the next two years representing the U.S. trucking industry. The Captains will travel across the United States speaking to the motor public, news media, civic organizations and legislators about how safe, secure, professional and efficient the trucking industry is. They also act as role models for the more than 3.2 million professional drivers in the U.S.


The overwhelming number of applicants and finalists for Americas Road Team Captains stands as a true testament to the dedication and professionalism of our hardworking drivers and their commitment to the public image of the industry in which they work, said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves. The 35 drivers named today are the best in the industry, and we are honored to have them participate in this important selection process.   


"Once again, the U.S. trucking industry has provided us with a wealth of supremely qualified candidates for America's Road Team," said Scott Kress, senior vice president - sales & marketing, Volvo Trucks North America.  "Volvo salutes these drivers, who demonstrate a professionalism and a dedication to safety that inspires us all. Volvo also salutes their employers, who show their commitment to safety and industry image by supporting the large investment of time required to be a Road Team Captain."


To be nominated to serve as a Road Team Captain, a driver must be employed as either a company driver for an ATA member motor carrier or as an owner-operator leased to an ATA member. Each nominee should have an excellent safety record and should demonstrate an ability to communicate his or her commitment to safety, professionalism and courtesy.


ATA will honor the 20th anniversary of the Americas Road Team with a year-long celebration.  The first ATA Americas Road Team Captains were named in December 1986 in an effort to promote the trucking industry, its positive safety record and its professional drivers, and to highlight the importance of the industry to the U.S. economy.

2007 2008 America's Road Team Finalists:

(Alphabetical Order)




Albert Adams

Roadway Express

Berlin Center, Ohio

Mark Bennecke

Covenant Transport

Hilham, Tenn.

Travis Boardman

FedEx Ground

Salisbury, Md.

David Bouchey

Titan Transfer

Bowling Green, Ky.

Bobby Brown

UPS Freight

Ft. Worth, Texas

William Burton

Jevic Transportation

Kentland, Ind.

Ronald Coles

USF Reddaway

Kuma, Idaho

Dennis Conrad

Hogan Transport

Bolivar, Mo.

Wayne Crowder

FedEx Freight

Lanesville, Ind.

Dennis Day

Con-way Freight

Lawrenceville, Ga.

Tim Dean

Werner Enterprises

Griswold, Iowa

William Kent Durant

Roadway Express

Cheney, Kan.

Steve Eckhoff

Hogan Dedicated Services

Stover, Mo.

Steve Fields

Yellow Transportation

Independence, Mo.

Robert Foskey

UPS Freight

Jacksonville, Fla.

Jose Franco

UPS Freight

Avondale, Ariz.

James Gallagher

Roadway Express

Williamsville, N.Y.

Barry Holland

UPS Freight

Hurlock, Md.